我的数字游牧故事 – Create Travel TV

作为数字游牧民族与越南精英共处的卑微开端

数字游牧民崛起会议 – 主讲嘉宾 Nate

我的数字游牧故事

我的故事始于 2019 年。刚和女朋友分手,感觉很失落。我觉得我的生活真的很无聊,我所做的就是坐在我的房间里,在我的电脑上工作。温哥华很贵,所以我必须做很多工作才能负担加拿大荒谬的生活费用。我仍然欠学生贷款 22,000 美元,感觉有点沮丧。

当我去泰国进行为期 3 周的数字游牧冒险时,我记得一个更好的时光。这是我一生中最美好的时刻之一,我知道这就是我想要做的事情。

所以在 3 个月内,我卖掉了我拥有的所有东西。将我需要的所有东西装进 2 个手提箱和一个背包,并预订了一张去泰国清迈的单程票。我不知道生活为我准备了什么。我有点紧张,但我有一个目标。过着廉价的生活,还清我的债务。

作为数字游牧者的第一年是一个完整的过山车。

在顶峰,那是我一生中最激动人心的一年。在底部,它充满了个人成长和重塑自我。一路走来犯了很多错误,吸取了很多教训和解决问题。我将在这里介绍这些以及我是如何克服它们的。

我了解到,每 1-2 个月搬家最初是令人兴奋的,但过了一段时间,它变得昂贵且令人筋疲力尽。一路上,我发生了很多疯狂的事情。我刚买的笔记本电脑停止工作,当我最大的客户决定改变财务重点时,我的收入损失了一半,我不得不克服语言和文化障碍。

美好时光

在那之后的几个月是惊人的。慢慢爬到过山车最激烈的部分的顶部。周末有很多工作,有趣的冒险。遇到一个女孩,开始花太多钱。忘记了我最初的省钱和偿还债务的目标。这绝对是一个错误,因为下雨天就在拐角处。

作为数字游牧民族的美好时光

日本1个月

我能在大阪附近找到的唯一实惠的地方是一家名为胶囊旅馆 Sai 在日本森口。 大阪郊外的一个小城市。你基本上睡在一个棺材里,只有足够的空间让你躺下和你的手提箱。不过,他们有一些非常好的共享空间。

我会坐火车去一个名为“The Links in Kitahama”的联合办公空间。这个月只有 $167 相当不错。他们有一台非常棒的咖啡机,友好的工作人员,但每周只营业 6 天,晚上 10 点关门。

Byodoin 是佛教寺庙京都日本

Byodoin 是佛教寺庙京都日本

 ???平等院是一座佛教寺庙 - 日本京都 平等院是一座佛教寺庙,成立于 1052 年,位于京都东南部的宇治市。平等院在镰仓时代逐渐扩展为规模宏大的寺庙建筑群。平等院在日本的重要性得到了证明......

日本京都荃茶店

日本京都荃茶店

通园茶店 - 日本京都通园茶店。日本最古老的茶叶公司。位于京都宇治站前。据说这是一家家族企业,自 1160 年以来一直存在。它为来自世界各地的数百万旅行者准备了茶...

作为数字游牧民族的美好时光

作为数字游民面临的最大挑战

我回到泰国只是为了坐过山车的底部。所有这些事情都同时发生在我身上。

我最大的客户将我的预算削减至 2%。为了生存,他们必须改变财务重点。

我的借记卡丢了,所以从自动取款机取钱变得非常复杂。

我刚买的新电脑坏了。主板炸了。电脑店说要2个月才能修好。

我很快就预订了去巴厘岛的行程,但由于签证问题,我必须离开泰国。

作为数字游牧者的经验教训

作为数字游牧者从充满挑战的时代中汲取的经验教训

拥有第二台笔记本电脑 

所以我最终不得不购买第二台笔记本电脑。这实际上并不是一个坏主意。如果一个问题出现问题,它会给你时间和能力来解决另一个问题,同时解决它。当我短途旅行时,我会使用较便宜的笔记本电脑,并将昂贵的笔记本电脑留在家里。

始终可以获取现金

作为数字游民,最糟糕的事情之一就是你身无分文地被困在异国他乡。我建议您始终需要有现金。哪怕是信用。储蓄是最好的,但如果资金枯竭或发生紧急情况,您需要一个备用计划。如果我无法获得信贷,我现在就完蛋了。如果可以的话 获得信用额度,它实际上有一个非常合理的利率 与信用卡相比。通常我会先使用信用卡,并且总是在30天内还清,以避免疯狂的利息。但是……如果我资金不足,我会使用我的信用额度来做到这一点。拥有信用额度多次救了我的命。让您有时间从危机中恢复过来。

拥有几个备用银行账户和信用卡

如果出现问题,有备用计划总是好的。如果你丢了银行卡,你可以轻松地换一张。不幸的是,当时我还没有意识到这一点,取现金非常麻烦。我不得不交一个加拿大朋友,信任他,给他寄 $1000,然后让他们帮我把钱取现金。我不得不这样做了几次,直到我能回到加拿大。

我现在有 5 个以上的银行账户,所以我总是有保障。我把它们存放在不同地方的不同钱包里。随身携带 2 个,还有一些存放在家里的某个地方。许多银行允许您免费设立储蓄账户,并允许您随时在线添加支票账户。有时,由于随机的技术问题,一张银行卡可能无法正常使用。  

多种收入来源

这有一些优点和缺点,具体取决于它的完成方式。拥有多种收入来源的好处之一是,如果一种来源枯竭,您可以在重建期间专注于另一种来源来支付账单。我损失了一半以上的收入。如果我失去了一切,我的处境就会更糟。如果您是一名自由职业者,您绝对不想依靠一位客户来提供您的所有收入。这很危险,而且他们对你的权力太大了。

然而,人们陷入的一个陷阱是,他们分散了精力,想了很多完全不同的赚钱方法,但从来没有成功过。创造收入来源需要时间,所以不要努力创造太多,尤其是在开始阶段。有自己的主业是件好事。比如说自由职业,同时在另一份工作上投入精力。

作为数字游牧者的经验教训

尝试过 Bali Bustle 的共享居住

我住在一个非常酷的地方,叫做 Bali Bustle。这是一个联合办公空间,楼上有起居空间。它甚至还有一家提供客房服务的餐厅,因此我可以点食物或咖啡送到您的房间。有一个游泳池、简单的健身房、很棒的联合办公空间和快速的互联网。

唯一的问题是我没有那么多工作要做,而且我正在花借来的钱。我没有时间浪费。我必须制定我的营销计划。

巴厘岛共同生活

我的数字游牧营销计划

一开始我尝试了很多不同的事情。

在线申请了数百个职位,
致力于我网站的搜索引擎优化,
为 YouTube 制作了视频,
尝试过冷电子邮件公司
但最有效的是……

呼叫我网络中的某人 每一天

我不太咄咄逼人或推销,更健谈。问了很多问题,看看他们做得怎么样,让他们知道我在做什么,问他们在做什么,向他们展示我一直在做什么。 

对于看门人和销售人员,如果他们按照我的方式发送工作,我会给他们佣金。看门人是有权接触您的创意客户的人。

学习和从事个人项目

我想,既然要烧钱,就应该花点时间学习,为未来做准备。我学习了网络编程:Php、Python 和 JavaScript。做了一些个人项目,并把它们发给了同行。 

这两件事最终导致了很多及时的推荐。 2-3个月后,我的生意就恢复正常了。一年后,我一直非常忙碌。

数字游牧营销计划

#1 数字游民失败的原因

数字游民失败的首要原因(我遇到过许多失败的人)是......

他们没钱了

许多数字游牧民族 没有创收技能
他们攒了一些钱,辞去了工作,尝试成为一名股票交易员、Youtuber、开发自己的应用程序、尝试成为一名博主。
但不赚钱。 一旦他们跑出去他们就只能夹着尾巴回家。

最坏的情况是: 我见过外国人甚至因此而无家可归。在异国他乡无家可归。这绝对是可怕的。疫情期间我见过更多外国人遇到这种情况。被困住了,没钱就回不了家。这些数字游牧民给我们其他人带来了坏名声,所以这绝对不是好事。这就是为什么我如此强调这一点。作为一个游牧民族,钱就更重要了。您不可能轻易找到工作,也没有任何收入援助。你自己的。

数字游牧营销计划
zh_CNChinese

My Digital Nomad Story – Create Travel TV

HUMBLE BEGINNINGS AS A DIGITAL NOMAD TO LIVING WITH THE ELITE OF VIETNAM

Rise of the Digital Nomads Conference – Keynote Speaker Nathan Ergang

My Digital Nomad Story

My story started in 2019. Just broke up with my girlfriend and was feeling lost. I felt like my life was really boring and all I did was sit in my room and work on my computer. Vancouver was expensive so I have to work a lot to afford the ridiculous living costs in Canada. I was still 22,000 in debt from student loans and was feeling a little depressed.

I remembered a better time when I went to Thailand for 3 week on a digital nomad adventure. It was one of the best moments of my life and I knew that this is what I wanted to do with my life.

So within 3 months I sold everything I owned. Fit everything I needed into 2 suitcases and a backpack and booked a 1 way ticket to Chiang Mai Thailand. I had no idea what life had in store for me. I was a little nervous but I had a goal. Live cheap and pay off my debt.

The 1st Year as a Digital Nomad was a Complete Rollercoaster.

At the top, it was the most exciting year of my life. At the bottom it was filled with personal growth and reinventing myself. Made lots of mistakes, many lessons and problem solving along the way. Ill cover those here and how I overcame them.

I learned that moving every 1-2 months was initially exciting but after a while it got expensive and exhausting. Lots of crazy things happened to me along the way. My laptop I just bought stopped working, lost half my income when my biggest client decided to shift financial priorities, and I had to overcome the language and culture barrier.

THE GOOD TIMES

After that the next few months was amazing. Slowly climbing up to the top of the most intense part of the roller coaster. Had Lots of work, fun adventures on the weekends. Met a girl and started spending too much money. Forgot about my initial goal of saving money and paying off debt. This was definitely a mistake because of the rainy days that were just around the corner.

The good times as a digital nomad

1 Month In Japan

The only affordable place I could find near Osaka was a capsule hotel called Sai in Moriguchi Japan. A small city just outside Osaka. You basically sleep in a coffin that just has enough room for you to lay down and your suitcase. They have some really nice shared spaces though.

I would take the train down to a coworking space call “The Links in Kitahama”. It was quite nice for only $167 for the month. They had a really amazing coffee machine, friendly staff but was only open 6 days a week and closes at 10pm.

Byodoin is a Buddhist Temple Kyoto Japan

Byodoin is a Buddhist Temple Kyoto Japan

 平等院 Byodoin is a Buddhist Temple - Kyoto Japan Byodoin is a Buddhist temple founded in 1052 in Uji, just south-east of Kyoto. The Byodoin Temple gradually expanded into a massive Temple complex during the Kamakura Period.   Byodoin's significance in Japan is attested...

Tsuen Tea Shop Kyoto Japan

Tsuen Tea Shop Kyoto Japan

Tsuen Tea Shop - Kyoto Japan Tsuen Tea Shop. The oldest tea company in Japan. Located in Kyoto right in front of Uji station. Apparently it's a family run business that has been around since the year of 1160. It has prepared tea for millions of travelers from all over...

The good times as a digital nomad

BIGGEST CHALLENGE AS DIGITAL NOMAD

I got back to thailand just to hit the bottom of the rollercoaster. All these things happeded to me at once.

My largest client cut my budget to 2% of what it was. They had to shift financial priorities to survive.

Lost my debit card so it became super complicated to get money out of an atm.

My new computer I just bought broke. The mother board fried. The computer shop said it was going to take 2 months to fix.

I had a trip booked to Bali soon and had to leave Thailand because of my visa.

Lessons Learned as a Digital Nomad

Lessons Learned From Challenging Times as a Digital Nomad

Owning a second laptop 

So I ended having to get a second laptop. Which is actually not a bad idea. If one has problems it gives you time and the ability to work on the other one while you get it fix. I use my cheaper laptop when I take short trips and leave my expensive one at home.

Always have access to cash

One of the worst things that can happen to you as a Digital Nomad is you get stuck in a foreign country with no money. I suggest that you always need to have access to cash. Even if it’s credit. Savings is best but you need a backup plan if funds dry up or if an emergency happens. If I didn’t have access to credit I would have been screwed at this point. If you can get a line of credit it actually has a very reasonable interest rate compared to a credit card. Usually I use my credit card first and always pay it off within 30days to avoid the crazy interest. But… I use my line of credit todo that if I’m low on funds. Having a line of credit has saved my ass so many times. Gives you time to recover from a crisis.

Have a few back up bank accounts & credit cards

It’s always good to have a backup plan if something goes wrong. If you loose your bank card you can easily switch to another. Unfortunately at this time I wasn’t aware of this and it was super painful to get cash. I had to make a Canadian friend, trust him enough to send them $1000, then ask them to take it out in cash for me. I had to do this a few times till I could get back to Canada.

I now have 5+ bank accounts so I’m always covered. I store them in different wallets in different places. Always have 2 on me and a few stored at home somewhere. Many banks let you set up a saving account for free and allow you to add a Chequing account at any time online. Sometimes one bank card might not work as well due to random technical issues.  

Multiple Steams of Income

There’re some pros and cons to this depending how its done. One good thing about having multiple steams of income is if one source dries up you can focus on the other one to pay your bills while you rebuild. I lost just over half my income. If I lost everything I would have been in a much worse position. If your a freelancer you defiantly don’t want to rely on 1 client to provide all your income. That’s dangerous and they have too much power over you.

A trap that people get themselves into though is spreading themselves too thin with too many completely different ideas on how to make money but never get anywhere with them. It takes time to create a source of income so don’t work on creating too many especially in the begging. It can be good to have your main thing. Say freelancing and work on 1 alternative source on the side.

Lessons Learned as a Digital Nomad

Tried Co-Living at Bali Bustle

I stayed at a really cool place called Bali Bustle. Its a co-working office with living space upstairs. It even had a restaurant with room service so I could order food or a coffee up to your room. Had a pool, simple gym, great coworking  space and fast internet.

The only problem was I didn’t that much work todo and I was burning borrowed money. I had no time to waste. I had to work on my marketing plan.

Co Living In Bali

My Digital Nomad Marketing Plan

In the beginning I tried many different things.

Applied for 100s of jobs online,
worked on the SEO of my website,
made a video for YouTube,
tried cold emailing companies
but what worked the best was…

Calling someone in my network Every Single Day

I wasn’t too pushy or salesy, more conversational. Asked a lot of questions, see how they are doing, let them know what I was doing, asked them what they where working on, showed them what I’ve been working on. 

For gatekeepers and sales people I would offer them a commission if they sent work my way. A gatekeeper is someone who has access to your idea clients.

Studied & worked on personal projects

I figured if I was burning money I should spend some time educating my self for the future. I learned web programing: Php, Python & JavaScript. Worked on some personal projects and sent them to people in my industry. 

These 2 things ended up leading to a lot of referrals in time. In 2-3 months my business was back to normal. After 1 year I was super busy all the time.

Digital Nomad Marketing Plan

#1 REASON WHY DIGITAL NOMADS FAIL

The number 1 reason digital nomads fail and I have met many people that have failed is…

They Run Out of Money

Many Digital Nomads have NO INCOME GENERATING SKILLSET
They save up some money, quit there job and try to be a stock trader, Youtuber, develop their own app, try to become a blogger.
BUT MAKE NO MONEY. Once they run out they have to come home with their tail between their legs.

WORST CASE SCENARIO: I’ve seen foreigners that even become homeless because of this. Trapped homeless in a foreign country. Which is just absolutely terrible. I’ve seen more foreigners in this situation during the pandemic. Trapped and cant get home with no money. These digital nomads give the rest of us a bad reputation so this is defiantly not good. This is why I stress this so much. Money is even more important as a nomad. You cant just so easily get a job, there is no income assistance for you. Your on your own.

Digital Nomad Marketing Plan
en_USEnglish
Contact US